How to format MembershipRequest objects for an Add New Project request?

I’m trying to create a private project that assigns the members from a Trello card to that project, using a single Add New Project request. I’m using Zapier to connect Trello and Clockify. Everything is working except the membership assignments. I keep getting this error:

JSON parse error: Cannot deserialize value of type java.util.ArrayList<com.clockify.adapter.http.project.MembershipRequest> from String value (token JsonToken.VALUE_STRING) (HTTP Status Code: 400)

I’m looping through a list to collect the properties, and push the objects to a list, then inserting that list of objects into an array as the value the “memberships” property. My objects looks like this:

{
“userId”:“xxxxxxxxx”,
“hourlyRate”:“undefined”,
“costRate”:“undefined”,
“targetId”:“undefined”,
“membershipType”:“PROJECT”,
“membershipStatus”:“ACTIVE”
}

I’m a total novice, so I’m hoping I’m just missing some basic syntax here that’s making these objects unreadable to the API. Is it acceptable to have these properties undefined? Is that the correct way to notate undefined in JSON? How could I have the target ID (of the project) when the project isn’t yet made? I would be grateful for some suggested resources in lieu of a definite answer. :slight_smile:

Hello,

You could remove the rates, and the targetId, as the targetId is generated after a project has been created. Here’s how the JSON body could look like:

{
  "name": "My API Project",
  "memberships": [{
    "userId": "ENTER-USER-ID-HERE",
    "membershipType": "PROJECT",
    "membershipStatus": "ACTIVE"
  }]
}

The parameter userId must have a value if you are creating a private project and assigning a user to it. You can get all the userIds by using the Find all users on workspace call
Method: GET
URL: https://api.clockify.me/api/v1/workspaces/{workspaceId}/users