Global hotkeys

Hi All,
I am new to clockify. Could you tell me whether it is possible to set up global hotkeys to add a new task and start the timer?
I have seen that there is a clockify-cli project in github. What are your experiences with that cli?

Hi there, here is the list of all the shortcuts available in Clockify:

Web

Keyboard shortcuts can be used on the Time Tracker page and will only work when you are not editing any fields (when your cursor is not active).

• n = start N ew timer;
  • c = C ontinue latest entry.
  • s = S top current timer;
  • m = switch to M anual mode;

macOS desktop app

In order for shortcuts to work, your cursor needs to be focused on the Clockify window.

• Cmd+S = Start the timer
  • Cmd+T = Stop the timer
  • Cmd+N = Enter manual time entry mode
  • Shift + Cmd + S = Save time entry when editing
  • Cmd+Y = Sync data
  • Cmd+L = Log out

You can also define your own custom global shortcut for start/stop timer and hide/show app in Settings > Preferences > General.

Browser extension (Chrome, Firefox)

• Ctrl+Shift+U = start/stop a timer without having to open the extension

Also, please note there is no shortcut for adding new task. To add a new task, please navigate to the Projects tab on the left sidebar menu, click on a desired project and add task manually.

Hope this helps. Cheers!

I have found these as well. Unfortunately these hotkeys work only if the clockify app is active (when its window has a focus). What I need is a global hotkey. I often got interrupts when I need to switch between tasks instantly and I have neither the time or the will to first find the window, where clockify is active and use the hotkey. It seems to me that such a feature is not available.

Hi,

That is correct, the window needs to be in focus in order for the shortcuts to work.

An option that I could recommend trying would be either using our extension which would allow you easy access to your timer from any tab.